The Tausug Culture

aw Sug, Tau Suug, Sulu, Suluk, Moro, Joloano, Taw SulukThe Tausug (Taw Sug, Tau Suug, Sulu, Suluk, Moro, Joloano, Taw Suluk) number about 701,367 (NM 1994) in the Philippines, spreading out to Malaysia where there are more than an estimated 110,000. The core areas in the Philippines are in Jolo (50,265), Indanan (40,791), Siasi (30,064), and Patikul (29,326). In the province of Sulu, there are over 413,700 (NSO 1990). The society appears to be very homogenous. The name is supposed to mean “people of the current” although some say this interpretations came from the terms “Tau,” person, and Suug which is the old name of the island of Jolo. The religion is Islam and the society is structured around a sultanate. Continue reading

The Sama Culture

SamaThe Sama (AA Sama, Jama Mapun, Samal, Balangini, Balangingi, Bangingi, Pangutaran) are a highly variable group with the populations concentrated in Sulu and Tawi-Tawi (118,572) provinces. The core areas are in Siasi (15,248), Tandubas (16,706), and Sitangkai (30,328), and Pangutaran (14,382) (NSO 1990). The national population is about 319,809 (NM 1994). There are three generalized linguistic groupings: western, eastern (Pangutaran), and central. The people group themselves consistent with the dialects they speak and are identified by their home islands. With these as bases, they distinguish at least 20 subgroupings among themselves, including one, Sagaa, whose language is Continue reading

Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao

ARMMThe Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, or ARMM, was created in 1990 to help solve the long-festering Muslim problem and at the same time hasten the economic development of the Muslim areas. At present, however, the ARMM only covers the four provinces of Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Maguindanao, and Lanao del Sur. Through a plebiscite in 1989, the predominantly Christian residents of the 14 provinces and 10 cities expressed their preference not to join the ARMM.

The people of Mindanao have always looked forward to shaping their destiny Continue reading

Sulu Province

Sulu ProvinceSulu is an island province of the Philippines located in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM). The Province is subdivided into 19 municipalities, Its capital is Jolo and occupies the middle group of islands of the Sulu Archipelago, between Basilan and Tawi-Tawi. It is home to the Royal Sultanate of Sulu. Sulu’s area is 1,600.4 kilometers square, and is 15th largest island of the Philippine Archipelago, in terms of the area.

Although consisting of a mixed community of Muslims and Christians, the Tausugs dominate the Sulu Archipelago. The Tausugs were among the first Filipinos to embrace Islam as a religion and a way of life.

Continue reading

Sulu Plaza Boracay

Sulu Plaza BoracaySulu Plaza Hotel offers affordable rooms and apartments, ideal for groups and families. Fitted with bamboo furnishings, the rooms and apartments come with a safety deposit box. Shower facilities are available in the en suite bathroom. Dine at the Sulu Plaza Restaurant (Excellent Thai Food) and enjoy watching the beach life; or just chill out in its bar, play billiards, and take pleasure in viewing the amazing sunset. Guests can play a game of pool, take a dip in the sea, or simply laze on the beach. Shuttle services can be arranged for those who wish to explore the area

Well-placed in the beaches, restaurants, sports area of Boracay Island city, Sulu Plaza provides a most Continue reading

Jolo Volcano

Jolo VolcanoJolo volcano is a group of young cinder cones and explosion craters on the 60-km-wide Jolo Island located off the Zamboanga Peninsula on SW Mindanao Island in the southern Philippines 190 km NE of Sabah, Malaysia.

Jolo Volcano is part of the Sulu arc and contains several young volcanic vents, including Mt. Dakula near Lake Panamo, the probably youngest cone of the island, Tumatangus volcano, at 811 m the highest point of the island, Bud Dajo (or Buddajo), a young basaltic cinder cone (620 m), and the cones of Matanding, Guimba, and Sungal. Continue reading