The Barasalon Cave is located in Iloilo Province, 27 kilometers from the city of Janiuay. Getting to the cave requires a two hour trek from Barangay Quipot, the last barangay accessible to transportation. The hike to Barasalon is a challenge in itself, crisscrossing Suagui River twenty-eight times. The entrance to Barasalon Cave is a small hole in the ground. A spelunker needs to lower himself on a rope down the cave’s floor more or less forty feet below. The cave is itself an enormous subterranean chamber. On the roof hang grown, fang-like stalactites while on the floor like porticos rise stalagmites. There is a niche the locals call Mystical Altar, which shines in a riot of colors when lighted. The cave tapers off into an alley called the King’s Alley, then widens again into a chamber called the Queen’s Chamber. Continue reading
The church in Janiuay are just remnants of the structure built by Fr. Miguel Carod, parish priest from 1839-1871. This centuries-old church reveals the traces of 19th century Spanish architecture. Materials used to build the church were brought in from Guimaras Island, and brick ovens built to forge them. When Fr. Carod died on November 1, 1871, the church was almost complete. His successors finished the task for him. The church was burnt during the war, never to be rebuilt. Even in its ruined state the ancient church of Janiuay overshadows the new church built beside it. What is left indicates that the church was conceived as a neoclassical structure with engaged columns and pilasters of coral stone alternating with clean brick walls ornamented by arched opening.
Next to Pavia’s Carabao Carroza Festival is its Tigkaralag Festival which started in 1992. Conceptualized by Former 2nd District Provincial Board Member Cecilia H. Capadosa, the festival is generally laid on the morbid concept of coffins, tombs, zombies and mummies. The participants are dressed in unusual frightening customes, with matching horrendous masks and body paints. The term “TIGKARALAG” comes from Ilonggo words, “tig” which means “season of” and “kalag” which means ”soul”. This festival is the “only festival of its kind” in the region and it is Pavianhons unique way of celebrating All Soul’s Day. Participated in by the 18 barangays of the municipality, participants in tigkaralag costume parade themselves from Brgy. Aganan to the town’s plaza for a dance-drama competition with Continue reading
The Tultugan Festival is a one day festivity held every 29th of December in Maasin, Iloilo. This festival, held the day prior to the town fiesta, aims to promote the towns leading bamboo industry and to project Maasinanons creativity with the worlds biggest grass and to showcase the various uses of the bamboo in the social , cultural, and economic life of the people of Maasin.
With its ultimate reputation as the premier bamboo-producing town in the region, Maasin celebrates the festivity with a rich display Continue reading
The Municipality of Maasin is located at the west central part of the Iloilo Province, boundering the northeastern part by the Municipality of Janiuay, on east by the Municipality of Cabatuan, on the south by the Municipality of Alimodian and on the northwestern by the mountain ranges of the Province of Antique. It has a total land area of 17,110 has. including the 6,150 has. of the watershed with terrain ranging from the plain to strongly hilly and mountainous. Continue reading
Iloilo is located in the center of the Philippine archipelago. Strategically located 283 statute miles from Manila, it is the gateway to the flourishing region that is Western Visayas. The province comprises the southeastern part of Panay Island.
Discover Iloilo, a province rich in historical and cultural attractions, home of the famous Dinagyang festival (every 4th weekend of January), stately mansions, majestic century-old churches, unspoiled countrysides and exotic delicacies.
Savor the hospitality in Iloilo’s numerous accommodation facilities and restaurants. They come in various classes depending on the guest’s Continue reading