Samar Province

Western Samar ProvinceSamar, also known as Western Samar, is a province on Samar Island, located in the eastern portion of the Philippines.  It lies southeast of Luzon and occupies the northernmost section of Eastern Visayas.  It is separated from Luzon on the north by San Bernardino Strait and from Leyte on the southwest by the narrow San Juanico Strait.  It is bounded on the east by the Pacific Ocean, on the south by Leyte Gulf and on the west by the Samar Sea.

Many names (Samal, Ibabao, Tandaya) were given to Samar Island prior to the coming of the Spaniards in 1596.  The name Samar was derived from the Continue reading