Tacloban City, Leyte

San Juanico Bridge TaclobanTacloban City is the largest city and regional center of the Eastern Visayas region of the Philippines. The City of Tacloban is located in the northeastern part of the island of Leyte with a total land area of 201.7 square kilometers. It is also the capital city of Leyte. It is the center of commerce, tourism, education, culture, and government in the region. Tacloban is located on Cancabato Bay, in the San Juanico Strait which divides the islands of Leyte and Samar. According to the 2000 census, it has a population of 178,639 people in 34,758 households. It is composed of 138 barangays. Continue reading

Eastern Visayas Region

Eastern VisayasEastern Visayas is one of three regions situated in the middle of the Philippines and serves to link the islands of Luzon and Mindanao through the National Maharlika Highway that runs through it. Also known as Region VIII, this area is composed of the three major islands of Leyte, Samar and Biliran. It has 6 provinces: Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Southern Leyte, and Samar; 7 cities: Tacloban (highly urbanized city), as the regional capital, Borongan, Baybay, Ormoc, Maasin, Calbayog and Catbalogan; 136 municipalities, and 4,390 barangays. It has a total land area of 23,231.4 square kilometers which accounts for 6.8 percent of the country’s land area. Continue reading

Southern Leyte Province

South Leyte ProvinceSouthern Leyte is one of the six provinces of Eastern Visayas or Region VIII. This province is famous for the historic Limasawa Island. It is the site of the First Christian Mass in the Orient, following the discovery of the Philippines by Ferdinand Magellan in 1521. Southern Leyte was formerly a part of its mother province, Leyte, until it became a separate province in 1960 under Republic Act 2227. It is composed of one city and 18 municipalities, with Maasin City as the capital and seat of its lone congressional district.

Canigao Channel bound it on the north by Leyte Province; on the east by Continue reading

Eastern Samar Province

Eastern Samar ProvinceEastern Samar is located in the Eastern Visayas region. It is bounded on the north by Northern Samar, on the east by the Philippine Sea, on the west by Western Samar, and on the south by the Leyte Gulf. Waray-waray is the major dialect spoken in the province. Eastern Samar had been a significant backdrop of the country’s rich colonial history through the island of Homonhon, where Ferdinand Magellan first set foot on Philippine soil in 1521 on his way to conquer the Philippines for the western world. Its tiny island of Suluan Guiuan was likewise where the U.S. Army rangers had their first encounter of the Philippine territory in 1944, three days before General Douglas MacArthur made his Continue reading

Northern Samar Province

Northern Samar ProvinceOn the northernmost tip of Eastern Visayas is the province of Northern Samar, perhaps one of the least explored and exploited provinces in the country today. The province has its roots to the settlements established by the Jesuits between 1599 to 1605 whoc established a mission-residence in what is now known as Palapag. In 1768, the Jesuits were expelled from Samar and replaced by the Franciscans. The settlement thrived amidst Muslim raids coming from the southern island of Mindanao. The San Bernardino Strait to the north of the province was a strategic waterway for the Spanish galleons plying the Manila-Acapulco route.

Continue reading

Leyte Province

Leyte ProvinceLeyte is considered the largest province in the Eastern Visayas Region and is one of the six provinces of Eastern Visayas Region. It is located in Central Philippines adjacent to Cebu. The province ranks eighth in size among larger islands in the Philippine Archipelago. It is situated in the island of Leyte and is the oldest province in the region. Leyte is strategically located in the Visayas region. It is bounded on the north by the Province of Biliran, by the San Juanico Strait and the island of Samar in the east, in the west by the Visayas and Ormoc Seas and in the south by Southern Leyte. The province is considered the regional center of the Eastern Visayas where the regional government offices are Continue reading


Kalanggaman IslandPalompon is one of the 27 coastal municipalities of Leyte, a large island in Eastern Visayas (Region VIII), Philippines. It is located 124 km west of Tacloban City, 65 km of Ormoc City, 24 km of Isabel, 21 km of Villaba, and 72 nautical miles away from Cebu. It has a land area of 165.80 sq km encompassing 50 barangays.

Out of 50 barangays, 26 comprise its 36 km coastline bordering Camotes Sea, where 56% of the population lives. Slightly off the coast of the municipality are the three islets, namely: Tabuk, Gumalac and Cabgan which altogether comprise the Tres Marias Islets, located along the Makapagaw shoal which is considered the widest coastline in the entire Leyte Island.

Continue reading

Calbayog, Samar

CalbayogCalbayog City is a city in the province of Samar, Philippines. It lies along the coastal region of the province stretching about 60 miles (97 km) from the northern tip of the island and 180 miles (290 km) from southern boundaries. Calbayog comprises 157 barangays, 25 of which are urban and 132 are rural, and is the largest city in Eastern Visayas. According to the 2009 census, it has a population of 190,374 people in 37,395 households, it is the second most populated city in region 8. Calbayog is one of the commercial trade centers in Eastern Visayas. And is the center of coerce in Samar. Its location makes it an ideal gateway to Samar, for it is one of the few cities in Samar that has both an airport and a seaport. Calbayog is subdivided into 3 major districts Calbayog, Tinambacan, Oquendo.

Samar Province

Western Samar ProvinceSamar, also known as Western Samar, is a province on Samar Island, located in the eastern portion of the Philippines.  It lies southeast of Luzon and occupies the northernmost section of Eastern Visayas.  It is separated from Luzon on the north by San Bernardino Strait and from Leyte on the southwest by the narrow San Juanico Strait.  It is bounded on the east by the Pacific Ocean, on the south by Leyte Gulf and on the west by the Samar Sea.

Many names (Samal, Ibabao, Tandaya) were given to Samar Island prior to the coming of the Spaniards in 1596.  The name Samar was derived from the Continue reading

Kalanggaman Island

Kalanggaman Island Kalanggaman is an island blessed with long stretches of white sandbar on both ends. It is a fast rising tourist destination of the town of Palompon in the province of Leyte,  of the Eastern Visayas (Region 8), and beyond.  From afar, the two white sandbars on both ends shine like a pearl as the sunlight touches the island – so beautiful, so tempting. The clear turquoise water surrounding the island is so inviting, that you will want to quickly get off your boat to experience the paradise that is Kalanggaman. Kalanggaman Island is Palompon’s exuberant hidden gem, the foremost  lead of Leyte Province’s  tourism “selling mission,”  Region 8 (E astern Visayas) tourism banner for CY 2012, and voted one of the Top 12 Hotspots in the Philippines..

Continue reading