Luna Mangroves of the Dinagat Islands

Luna Mangrove Reserve Area San Jose Dinagat Islands Forest Size Area Kilometers Port Trekking Province Boat Rental Tour Guide Vegetation Fishing Swimming Products History Description Info Depth Size The Luna Mangrove Reserve Area is located in San Jose, Dinagat Islands. The Luna Mangrove Reserve Area is a vast mangrove forest 2 1/2 kilometers from the port of San Jose. This is the nearest mangrove trekking area of the province and one of the sources for aquamarine products. Continue reading

Stingray Islet in the Dinagat Islands

Stingray Islet San Jose Dinagat Islands shape rock formation tour guide location beach canoe boat rental yawe pawikan turtle pagi sand history discovery transport hiking snorkeling scuba diving info Stingray Islet is located in San Jose, in Dinagat. An aerial observation of the island shows the stingray shap of the rock formation jutting from the water. This cute islet is one of the natural wave breakers of San Jose. Stingray Islet can be reached through canoeing or boat ride in five to ten minutes. There are some local version of this islet’s name: “yawe” key, “pawikan” turtle, and “pagi” stingray. Continue reading

The Caraga Region

Caraga Region PhilippinesThe Caraga Region was created through Republic Act 7901 which was approved on February 25, 1995 by then President Fidel V. Ramos. Also designated as Region XIII, the region is situated in the northeast section of Mindanao. It is bounded on the North by the Surigao Strait, on the West by the Provinces of Bukidnon and Misamis Oriental, on the South by the Province of Davao del Norte and on the East by the Pacific Ocean.

The name Caraga already existed in the lexicon of Spanish-era Philippines, dating more than 400 years ago. Spaniards formed Caraga through a military garrison in 1609 to reinforce their invasion of Continue reading

Dinagat Islands Province

Babas Cove Dinagat IslandsDinagat Islands is the 81st and the newest created province of the Philippines. It is located on the southern side of Leyte Gulf. It is bounded on the east by the Philippine Sea, on the south by Gaboc Channel and Nonoc Island; and on the west by Surigao Strait. Its main island, Dinagat, is about 60 km from north to south. The highest points of the province are Mt. Kambinliw and Mt. Redondo, found in the northern and southern part of the municipality of Loreto. The province of Dinagat is composed of 7 municipalities with Loreto as the largest municipality and Dinagat as the smallest municipality in terms of land area. San Jose is the capital of the province and is where the headquarters of the Philippine Benevolent Missionaries Association, Inc. (PBMA) is located. PBMA is a non-sectarian organization bounded by a Continue reading