Marawi, Lanao del Sur

Marawi CityMarawi City is the capital city of Lanao del Sur province, located on the island of Mindanao. The people of Marawi are called the Maranaos and speak the Maranao language. They are named after Lake Lanao, which is called Ranao in the language, whereupon its shores Marawi City lies. The city is also called the Summer Capital of the South because of its higher elevation and cooler climate.Marawi City is considered a 4th class component city. Regarding urbanization Marawi City is classified as urban. Marawi City occupies an area of 87.55 km². By the end of 2007 Marawi City was the home of 177,391 residents. Thus by average 2,026.17 people are living on one km².

Marawi was formerly part of the municipality of Dansalan. Its name was derived from the Maranao term rawi, which means reclining, and refers to the lilies that bend northward on the banks of the mouth of the Agus River. The municipality of Dansalan was established under the Moro Province in 1907. In 1940, Dansalan became a chartered city, but was not inaugurated until 1950. In 1956, Dansalan City was renamed Marawi City through a congressional act. In 1980, it was officially renamed the Islamic City of Marawi, with a 90 percent Muslim population. As Lanao del Sur‘s capital city, Marawi serves as the province’s commercial, educational, cultural, religious, and political center.

Administratively the Component City of Marawi City is subdivided into 96 barangays. 4 compose the center of the city wheras the other 92 are in the outlying areas. Some of them are even several kilometers away from the center of the Component City. The most populous are Tongantongan-Tuca Timbangalan, Lumbaca Toros, Amito Marantao, Somiorang, Bubong Lumbac, Sagonsongan, Tuca, Dayawan, Marinaut West, Bubonga Cadayonan, Poona Marantao, Bubonga Punod, Dulay West, Bito Buadi Itowa, Paridi.

Among the bigger cities and muni­ci­pa­li­ties in the neigh­bor­hood of Marawi City there are City Of Malaybalay (Bukidnon) 94 km east, Cagayan De Oro City (Misamis Oriental) 66 km north-east, Zamboanga City (Zamboanga del Sur) 95 km west, City Of Valencia (Bukidnon) 88 km east, Iligan City (Lanao del Norte) 25 km north-west, Cotabato City (Cotabato City) 86 km south, Maramag (Bukidnon) 82 km east-south-east, Ozamis City (Misamis Occidental) 51 km west-north-west, Datu Odin Sinsuat (Dinaig) (Maguindanao) 90 km south as well as 93 km east-south-east of Marawi City the component city Quezon (Bukidnon).

Marawi City has a total population of 123,295 people in 20,375 households as of 2000 census. The land is predominantly Muslim, thus a great number of the population, if not all, speaks Maranao. Another dialect spoken is Arabic since this is also taught among many students in the city, thus, people here can read, write, and speak Arabic at the same time. Other dialects used are Visayan, Tagalog and English as the medium of instruction.

Philippine Airlines and other airlines has daily flights every day from Manila to Cagayan de Oro City. From Cagayan de Oro, collective taxi for 4 to 6 passanger who share the fare goes to Marawi.

From Cotabato City, the seat of the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao and Region XII, you can either take plane of 30-minute flight or you can go by land. Should you choose to take a plane,it will bring you to Baloi Airport at Baloi, Lanao del Norte. Then take a PU jeep to Marawi, about 30-minute ride. If you choose by land, then you have to choose either via Malabang or via Davao – Butuan – Cagayan de Oro City – Iligan City tri before you finally reach Marawi.

If you want to reach Marawi City by water transportation, from Manila, you can take about direct to Cagayan de Oro City for two days or to Iligan City for two and a half days. Also, from Manila to Cebu City to Iligan then from Cagayan or Iligan, ground transportation can take you to Marawi City.



The Islamic City of Marawi is the capital city of the Province of Lanao del Sur.The city was formerly called Dansalan, a thriving town along the banks of Agus River and Lake Lanao. By virtue of Commonwealth Act No. 592, President Manuel L. Quezon approved on August 19, 1940 the conversion of the town of Dansalan into a city. It was the last city chartered under the Commonwealth of the Philippines. On June 16, 1956, President Ramon Magsaysay signed Republic Act No. 1552 renamed Dansalan City into Marawi City.


Be Sociable, Share!