Lanao del Sur Province

Lanao del Sur ProvinceLanao del Sur is one of the provinces of the Philippines and is part of the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (ARMM). It forms the western portion of Northern Mindanao and is bounded on the east by the province of Bukidnon, on west by the Illana Bay, on the South by the provinces of Maguindanao and North Cotabato and on the Northern and Northwestern by the Province of Lanao del Norte. It surrounds the basin of Lake Lanao, the largest lake in Mindanao and second largest in the Philippines next to Laguna de Bay. The province is subdivided into 39 municipalities and 1 city, Marawi which the capital. Continue reading

Davao del Norte Province

Davao del Norte ProvinceDavao del Norte was once known simply as Davao, and is a province located in the Davao Region in Mindanao. Its capital is Tagum City. It borders the province of Agusan del Sur to the north, Bukidnon to the west, Compostela Valley to the east, and the city of Davao to the south.

Touted as the Davao region’s Agriculture, Culture and Ecology (ACE) Tourism Destination, the province holds the distinction of having vast expanse of banana plantations in the region. Blessed with rich fertile land and other natural resources and the fact that it is located in Continue reading

Kalinga Province

Kalinga ProvinceKalinga is a landlocked province of the Philippines located in the Cordillera Administrative region in Luzon. It is bounded by the provinces of Cagayan and Apayao in the north, Mt. Province in the south, and Abra in the West. The greater sections of Cagayan and Isabela are found on its eastern part. The province consists of 1 city and 7 municipalities. Tabuk is the provincial capital which was proclaimed as a component city in 2007. But in November 2008, the Supreme Court of the Philippines ruled that its cityhood was unconstitutional. However, Tabuk had its city status reinstated by the Supreme Court on December 22, 2009. Continue reading

Catanduanes Province

Catanduanes IslandCatanduanes, an island paradise of howling winds and strange calm, lies east of the Bicol mainland, separated from the mainland Bicol by the Maqueda Channel and the Lagonoy Gulf. It is the first landmass of the Philippine archipelago to kiss the Pacific Ocean, making it directly open to the path of tropical cyclones, thus the moniker, “The Land of the Howling Winds”. With Virac as its capital, Catanduanes is subdivided into 11 municipalities, 315 barangays and one congressional district.

The population of the province as of May 1, 2000 was 215,356 reflecting a population density of 142.5 persons per square kilometer. Continue reading

Davao Occidental Province

Davao Occidental ProvinceDavao Occidental is the Philippine’s newest province (as of this date this article was published) and located in the Davao Region of Mindanao. Its capital is the municipality of Malita. To the east lies the Davao Gulf. It also shares a water border with the Indonesian province of North Sulawesi to the south. Davao Occidental became the country’s 81st province by Republic Act No. 10360, signed by President Benigno S. Aquino III in January 2013, which created the “Charter of the Province of Davao Occidental.”

The new province is composed of Don Marcelino, Malita, Sarangani, Jose Abad Santos and Sta. Maria, all from the Second District towns Continue reading

Southern Leyte Province

South Leyte ProvinceSouthern Leyte is one of the six provinces of Eastern Visayas or Region VIII. This province is famous for the historic Limasawa Island. It is the site of the First Christian Mass in the Orient, following the discovery of the Philippines by Ferdinand Magellan in 1521. Southern Leyte was formerly a part of its mother province, Leyte, until it became a separate province in 1960 under Republic Act 2227. It is composed of one city and 18 municipalities, with Maasin City as the capital and seat of its lone congressional district.

Canigao Channel bound it on the north by Leyte Province; on the east by Continue reading

Sultan Kudarat Province

Sultan Kudarat ProvinceSultan Kudarat is a province of the Philippines located in the SOCCSKSARGEN region in Mindanao. Its capital is Isulan and borders Maguindanao and Cotabato to the north, South Cotabato and Sarangani to the south, and Davao del Sur to the east, and the Celebes Sea to the west. The province’s total land area is 4783.1898 square kilometres. The three coastal towns on the province’s western side are lined with mountain ranges that wall the central part of the province from the sea. There are also mountains on the eastern side, leaving flat land in between. Continue reading

Nueva Vizcaya Province

Nueva Vizcaya ProvinceNueva Vizcaya Province lies within the heart of Northern Luzon. It is one of the five provinces of Region 2 known as Cagayan Valley. It is geographically located at the Southernmost part of the Region. The province of Ifugao and Isabela bound it on the north and northeast, on the east and southeast by Quirino and Aurora, respectively, on the south by Nueva Ecija and on the west by Benguet and Pangasinan. The province is actually bounded by three mountain ranges covered with forest and grasslands, namely the Sierra Madre on the east, the Cordillera on the west and the Caraballo on the south. Continue reading

Guimaras Island

Guimaras ProvinceGuimaras is the youngest and smallest of the six component provinces of the Western Visayas Region (Region 6). Known as the “Mango Country”, Guimaras Island has 8,000 hectares of mango orchards managed by corporations and individual growers. The province’s mango orchards produce the best mango variety certified as pest-free by the United States Department of Agriculture. Guimaras Island is a favored destination by both foreign and domestic tourists because of its picturesque beaches, waterfalls, springs, off shore islets, and its famous mangoes, which is considered one of the sweetest in the world.  Continue reading

Eastern Samar Province

Eastern Samar ProvinceEastern Samar is located in the Eastern Visayas region. It is bounded on the north by Northern Samar, on the east by the Philippine Sea, on the west by Western Samar, and on the south by the Leyte Gulf. Waray-waray is the major dialect spoken in the province. Eastern Samar had been a significant backdrop of the country’s rich colonial history through the island of Homonhon, where Ferdinand Magellan first set foot on Philippine soil in 1521 on his way to conquer the Philippines for the western world. Its tiny island of Suluan Guiuan was likewise where the U.S. Army rangers had their first encounter of the Philippine territory in 1944, three days before General Douglas MacArthur made his Continue reading