Siquijor Province

Siquijor Island ProvinceSiquijor is the third smallest province in the country both in terms of population and land area, after Camiguin and Batanes. For a time it was sub-province of Negros Oriental. Called Isla del Fuego of the ‘Island of Fire’ by the Spanish before, Siquijor is considered by many Filipinos to be a mystical island, full of witches and other supernatural phenomena.

Siquijor Province is a small separated island between Visayas and Mindanao. Neighboring Cebu and Bohol in the north, it is nearest to Negros Oriental Province, Continue reading

Dinagat Islands Province

Babas Cove Dinagat IslandsDinagat Islands is the 81st and the newest created province of the Philippines. It is located on the southern side of Leyte Gulf. It is bounded on the east by the Philippine Sea, on the south by Gaboc Channel and Nonoc Island; and on the west by Surigao Strait. Its main island, Dinagat, is about 60 km from north to south. The highest points of the province are Mt. Kambinliw and Mt. Redondo, found in the northern and southern part of the municipality of Loreto. The province of Dinagat is composed of 7 municipalities with Loreto as the largest municipality and Dinagat as the smallest municipality in terms of land area. San Jose is the capital of the province and is where the headquarters of the Philippine Benevolent Missionaries Association, Inc. (PBMA) is located. PBMA is a non-sectarian organization bounded by a Continue reading

Mountain Province

Mountain ProvinceThe Mountain Province is known as the “Weaver’s Paradise” due to the presence of various weaving centers sporting different designs that bespeak of the province’s cultural heritage. This was a province that practiced the traditional parliamentary & participatory form of governance as evidenced by the presence of the Dap-ay/Ato, a traditional form of governance led by the respected elders in the community. Mountain Province is found in the central part of the Cordillera mountain ranges in north Luzon of the Philippines. It is bounded by Isabela on the east; the provinces of Kalinga, Apayao, and Abra on the north; the provinces of Continue reading

Biliran Province

Tinago Falls IliganBiliran is the fourth smallest province in the Philippines and is located in the Eastern Visayas region. Biliran Island is 1,115 kilometers southwest of Manila. Its capital is Naval and for a time, Biliran was part of Leyte Province until it became independent in 1992. The province is composed of two major islands: Biliran Island and Maripipi Island. Other islands include Higatangan Island and the uninhabited island of Dalutan. It has 8 municipalities and 132 barangays. Continue reading

Aurora Province

Aurora ProvinceAurora Province is located on the East-Central side of Luzon Island. It is the north-eastern most province of Central Luzon (Region III). It is bordered on the north by the provinces of Isabela and Quirino, on the west by Nueva Ecija and Nueva Viscaya, on the south by Bulacan and Quezon Province, and on the east by the Pacific Ocean. The province’s main link to the rest of Luzon is through a narrow mountain gravel road that twists through the Sierra Madre Mountain Range. The road is located between Baler and Bongabon, Nueva Ecija. The capital of Aurora is is Baler. Continue reading

Oriental Mindoro Province

Muelle Bay Puerto Galera Oriental MindoroOriental Mindoro Province is located in the island of Mindoro under MIMAROPA region in Luzon, about 140 kilometers southwest of Manila. The province is bordered by the Verde Island Passage and the rest of Batangas to the north, by Marinduque, Maestro del Ocampo Island, Tablas Strait and the rest of Romblon to the east, by Semirara and the rest of Caluya Islands, Antique to the south, and by Occidental Mindoro to the west. Calapan City, the only city in the island, is the provincial capital. The province is touted as the country’s emerging eco-tourism destination. Most of the endemic species in the Philippines are found in the Verde Island Passage between Continue reading

Quezon Province

Quezon ProvinceQuezon Province was named after the late Philippine President Manuel Quezon. Its natural attractions include Mt. Banahaw, Puting Buhangin Beach and Baluti Island. Historical landmarks include shrines of National Heroes Claro M. Recto and Hermano Pule, the San Diego de Alcala Fortress, Alitao Bridge and Quezon Museum in Lucena City. Churches include the St. Michael Archangel Minor, Tayabas and the Church of St. Louis of Toulouse, Lucban.

Currently the sixth largest province in the country, Quezon Province, Continue reading

Sorsogon Province

Sorsogon ProvinceThe Province of Sorsogon is located at the southernmost tip of the Bicol Peninsula. It is bounded on the north by the Province of Albay, on the east and northeast by the Pacific Ocean, on the south by the San Bernardino Strait and the west and northwest by the Ticao and Burias Passes. The province has an irregular coastline with good harbors in Bulan, Magallanes and along the shore of Sorsogon Bay, and it also shapes the end of the Bicol Peninsula, and except for its northern part, it is completely surrounded by water: The Ticao and Burias Passes to the west, San Bernardino Strait to the south, the Philippine Sea and the Pacific Ocean to the east. Continue reading

Masbate Province

Masbate ProvinceMasbate is an island province of the Philippines located in the Bicol Region. Its capital is Masbate City and consists of three major islands: Masbate, Ticao and Burias, and 14 small islands. Masbate is composed of three main islands: namely, These islands are separated by the following: Masbate Pass, separating Masbate Island from Ticao Island; Ticao Pass, separating Masbate Island from Sorsogon and Burias Pass separating Burias Island from Sorsogon. Several small islets could be found on its surrounding territory especially on the north of the Visayas and Continue reading

Zamboanga del Sur Province

Zamboanga del Sur ProvinceZamboanga del Sur occupies the southern section of the Zamboanga Peninsula that forms the western part of the island of Mindanao. The province is bounded on the north by Zamboanga del Norte; on the south by the Moro Gulf; on the southwest by Zamboanga Sibugay; and on the east and northeast by Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental and Panguil Bay.

Zamboanga del Sur is a province that is shaped by the migration patterns of different groups of people, making it a province of total diversity. The development of Continue reading